top of page

Festival of Sri Lakshmi Devi Nine Days, Navratri Festival Celebration - 2021

In India, In the Tamil month of Puratashi (October Month), people will begin to celebrate Navaratri Festival for nine days. Navratri festival where People will worship and will do puja for the goddess Sri Lakshmi Devi for nine nights.

The festival of Navaratri is celebrated to cherish the victory of Dharma (Goodness) over Adharma (Evil). These nine days are associated with the battle that was fought between Goddess Durga and the Demon King Mahishasura.

Namastestu Mahamaye Shree Pithe Sura Poojite Shanka Chakra Gadha Haste Maha Lakshmi Namoostute

Throughout these nine days and Ten Days. This festival is called by different names by different states such as Navarathiri, Navaratri, Dushera, Navaratri Pooja. The nine avatars of the Goddess known as Lakshmi Devi is worshipped, each day dedicated to one incarnation. Let us find the story behind each avatar.

Credits: YouTube - Andal Yatra

Namastestu Garudarudhe Kolasura Bhayankari Sarva Papa Hare Devi Maha Lakshmi Namoostute

1 - Shailaputri: Shailaputri meaning ‘the daughter of the mountains’ was born to the Mountain King Himavan. She is also commonly known as Parvati and is the first of the nine Navadurga. She is depicted having two hands, holding a trident on her right hand and a lotus on her left. Being the wife of Lord Shiva, she rides on his bull named Nandi.

Sarvajne Sarva Varade Sarva Dushta Bhayankari Sarva Duhkha Hare Devi Maha Lakshmi Namoostute

2 - Brahmacharini: In the second avatar, holding a rosary in her right hand and a Kamandala (water pot) in her left hand, Brahmacharini signifies Tapasya or penance.

Siddhi Buddhi Prade DeviBhakti Mukti Pradayini Mantra Moorte Sada Devi Maha Lakshmi Namoostute

3 - Chandraghanta: When brought with him the strangest wedding procession is also known as Baraat, consisting of ghosts, Aghoris, sages, ascetics and every being unimaginable. Upon seeing this sight, Parvati’s mother and relatives were left in shock, mostly out of terror. To avoid any embarrassment to her family or to Shiva, Parvati transformed herself into a terrifying form – Chandraghanta.

Adyanta Rahite Devi Adi Shakti Maheshwari Yogaje Yoga Sambhute Maha Lakshmi Namoostute

4 - Kushmanda: Ma Kushmanda is worshipped on the fourth day of Navaratri. It is believed that Kushmanda is the ultimate source of life.

Sthula Sukshme Maha Raudre Maha Shakti Mahodari Maha Papa Hare Devi Maha Lakshmi Namoostute

5 - Skandamata: The fifth avatar, Skandamata literally means the mother of Skanda. Skanda is another name of Lord Karthikeya, often known as Murugan in the South. She rides a lion and has four arms. Two of her arms carry lotus, one is raised in blessing while the fourth holds her son Karthikeya.

Padmasana Sthithe Devi Parabrahma Swaroopini Parameshi Jagan Mata Maha Lakshmi Namoostute

6 - Katyayani: Being one of the most worshipped forms of Durga, Ma Katyayani is worshipped on the sixth day of Navaratri. This is the form that is often referred to as Durga. She took birth as the daughter of Sage Katyayan and hence came to be known as Katyayani.

Shwetambara Dhare Devi Nanalankara Shobhite Jagasthithe Jaganmata Maha Lakshmi Namoostute

7 - Kaalratri: Kaal refers to death and Ratri means night. Hence, Ma Kaalratri is the one who brings an end or death to anything that is associated with evil or darkness. She is more commonly referred to as Kali and is worshipped on the seventh day. Kaalratri is the most terrorizing form of Durga.

Maha Lakshmyashtakam Stotram Yah Patheth Bhakti Man Narah Sarva Siddhi Mavapnoti Rajyam Prapnoti Sarvada

8 - MahaGauri: Worshipped on eight-day, the story of Mahagauri has many versions. Maha means great and Gauri means white or fair.

Eka Kalam Pathennitya Maha Papa Vinashanam Dwikalam Yah Pathennityam Dhana Dhany Samanvitah

9 - Siddhidatri: Siddhidatri, worshipped on the last day, is the Adi Shakti avatar of Durga. She existed as pure energy and had no physical form. Lord Rudra worshipped her for creating the universe and she appeared from the left half of Shiva. That is why she and Shiva represent the duality of the universe in the form of masculine and feminine energies. They unite to form Ardhanarishwara.

Eka Kalam Pathennityam Maha Papa Vinashanam Dwikalam Yah Pathennityam Dhana Dhanya Samanvitah

Trikalam Yah Pathennityam Maha Shatru Vinashanam Maha Lakshmi Bhavennityam Prasanna Varada Shubhah

The above nine avatars were taken by Sri Mahalakshmi who is residing as Srirenga Nachiayar at Srirangam Temple and Srirangam Sri Renganachiyar is blessing everyone in the world with happiness and wealth and peace.

Devi Stotram – Mahalakshmi Ashtakam Meaning:

1 - Salutations to you O Great Maya, One who resides in Sri Chakra and is adored by the Gods, One who holds the Conch-shell, the Discus and the Mace, I worship to thee, Sri Maha Lakshmi.

2 - Salutations to the One who is riding the Eagle Garuda (Lord Vishnu’s vehicle). To the One, who destroyed the demon Kola Asura. To the One, who can destroy all sins caused by the mind, body and soul. I worship to thee, Sri Maha Lakshmi.

3 - To the One, who is aware of everything in the creation, One who can fulfil all desires, One who is the destroyer of all evils, One who removes all miseries. I worship to thee, Sri Maha Lakshmi.

4 - To the one who bestows success and intelligence. To the one who gives liberation or Moksha (Salvation). To the one who is an embodiment of all Mantras, I worship to thee, Sri Maha Lakshmi.

5 - To the one who has no beginning or end, to one who the primordial energy of this cosmic creation. To one who is the divine fire born of all Yoga, to the one who is in the minds of all Yogis, I worship to thee, Sri Maha Lakshmi.

6 - To the one who is the gross and subtle manifestation of Lord Rudra, to that ultimate strength who holds the entire creation within you, to the one who is the greatest energy of the cosmos and to the one who can eliminate all the hurdles of the progress. I worship to thee, Sri Maha Lakshmi.

7 - To the one who is seated in the yogic lotus posture, to the one who can assume the form of Supreme Brahman, to the one who is the supreme and universal mother of the entire creation, I worship to thee, Sri Maha Lakshmi.

8 - One who is clad in pure White clothes (Symbolic of purity, sanctity and truth), One who is adorned with many ornamentations, One who is the Universal Divine Mother of the entire Cosmic genesis of all time and space, and the Mother of all creation, I worship to thee, Sri Maha Lakshmi.

The devotee who chants this verse of eight stanzas to Goddess Lakshmi gains all success and gains sovereignty at all times. People who always recite once daily gains destruction of great sin; he who recites twice daily always is endowed with wealth and food.

People who recite it three times daily always gains the destruction of great enemies, and (Goddess Lakshmi) the pure giver of boons, would be always pleased (with the person).

Goddess Lakshmi, salutations to you.

425 views0 comments


bottom of page